Back to landing page
Board Member Access > Login
Canadian Sheep Federation
HOMEABOUT USANIMAL HEALTHPROGRAMSISSUESRESOURCESWHAT'S NEW?LINKS

PROGRAMS   ››  National Scrapie
Scrapie Eradication Programs

The Canadian sheep industry is committed to the development of initiatives geared towards the detection and eradication of scrapie from the national sheep flock and goat herd. There are currently three national scrapie programs in Canada.

National Scrapie Surveillance Program

The National Scrapie Surveillance Program was launched by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and several provincial agricultural ministries. The goal of this program is to identify infected animals so that proper steps can be taken to completely eradicate the disease from Canada. General requirements include reporting deads on farm over the age of 12 months and completing brain testing.

More information on this program can be found at Canadian Food Inspection Agency or call the CFIA at 1-800-442-2342.

Voluntary Scrapie Flock Certification Program

The Voluntary Scrapie Flock Certification Program (SFCP) was developed by the CFIA in collaboration with industry as the basis for Canada’s on-farm, voluntary scrapie control program. Pathway 1 of the SFCP is OIE compliant, meeting international trade regulations put forth by the OIE. General requirements of the SFCP include flock surveillance, working with an accredited CFIA veterinarian, completing an annual inventory of all sheep and goats on farm and closing the flock or herd to females.

More information on this program can be found at Scrapie Canada or by calling 1-866-534-1302.

National Genotyping Survey

The National Genotyping Survey is a leading-edge project that provides the knowledge base for increasing resistance of Canadian sheep flocks to scrapie. By genotype testing sheep, it is possible to determine the animals that are genetically resistant to scrapie. Because the national project includes ewe genotype testing, it is one of the most advanced in the world. Between 2005 and 2008, the national survey offered Canadian purebred producers compensation for genotype testing and shipping costs. To date, about 18,000 purebred sheep across Canada have been added to the national scrapie database. Producer participation in this program closed on December 16, 2008; however, a major final report will be released in mid-2009 citing new information on the genetic resistance of the Canadian purebred sheep flock.

More information on genotyping can be found at Scrapie Canada - Genotyping or by calling 1-866-534-1302.






Funding for this project was provided by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada


SEARCH:

Retour à la page d'accueil
Canadian Sheep Federation
ACCUEILÀ PROPOS
DE NOUS
SANTÉ
ANIMALE
COMMERCEQUESTIONSINFORMATION ET
RESSOURCES
QUOI DE
NEUF ?
LIENS

COMMERCE   ››  Programmes nationaux pour la tremblante

Programmes nationaux sur la tremblante

L’industrie canadienne du mouton est engagée envers le développement d’initiatives axées vers la détection et l’éradication de la tremblante du cheptel ovin et caprin national. Actuellement, il y a trois programmes nationaux sur la tremblante au Canada.

Programme national de surveillance de la tremblante

Le Programme national de surveillance de la tremblante a été lancé par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) et plusieurs ministères provinciaux de l’agriculture. Le but de ce programme est d’identifier les animaux infectés afin que les étapes nécessaires puissent être suivies pour complètement éradiquer la maladie au Canada. Les exigences générales incluent le rapport des mortalités à la ferme des animaux âgés de plus de 12 mois et de compléter une analyse du cerveau.

De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles au http://www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/anima/heasan/disemala/scrtre/survf.shtml ou entrez en contact avec l’ACIA en composant le 1-800-442-2342.

Programme volontaire de certification contre la tremblante

Le programme volontaire de certification contre la tremblante a été développé par l’ACIA en collaboration avec l’industrie. Le cheminement numéro 1 du programme se conforme aux normes internationales de l’OIE. Les exigences générales de la SFCP incluent la surveillance du cheptel, travailler avec un vétérinaire accrédité par l’ACIA, de compléter un inventaire annuel de tous les moutons et toutes les chèvres de la ferme et fermer l’accès des femelles au troupeau.

Vous trouverez plus de renseignements sur ce programme au http://www.scrapiecanada.ca/homeF.html ou en signalant le 1-866-534-1302.

Génotypage national

Le génotypage national est un projet à la fine pointe qui procure une base de connaissances pour augmenter la résistance du cheptel canadien à la tremblante. Par tests de génotype des moutons, il est possible de déterminer quels animaux sont génétiquement protégés contre la tremblante. Puisque le projet national comprend le génotypage des brebis, il s’agit d’un des programmes les plus avancés au monde. Entre 2005 et 2008, le génotypage national a fourni une compensation aux producteurs d’animaux pur sang pour les frais de tests et de transport. Aujourd’hui, environ 18,000 moutons pur sang à travers le Canada ont été ajoutés à la base de données nationale sur la tremblante. La participation à ce programme s’est terminée le 16 décembre 2008. Cependant, un important rapport final sera publié au milieu de 2009, citant de nouvelles informations sur la résistance génétique du cheptel pur sang canadien.

D’autres renseignements sur le génotypage sont disponibles au http://www.scrapiecanada.ca/homeF.html ou en composant le 1-866-534-1302.






Ce projet est financer par Agriculture et agroalimentaire Canada


RECHERCHE: