Back to landing page
Board Member Access > Login
Canadian Sheep Federation
HOMEABOUT USANIMAL HEALTHPROGRAMSISSUESRESOURCESWHAT'S NEW?LINKS

ABOUT US   ››  Board of Directors   ››  2008-2009
Board of Directors 2008-2009 

Executive Committee

Dwane Morvik, Chair
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Phone: 306-295-3801

 
Dwane and his wife Jaime grow grass and graze sheep and cattle near Eastend, SK in the Frenchman River Valley. Their ranch, Jondaryan Station, named after an Australian town, has been in operation since 1984.

“The CSF’s greatest value is supporting sheep producers from different provinces as they work together towards common goals that better the whole industry,” he says. Dwane wants to accomplish a lot of things as Chair of the CSF, but one goal is the availability of a wider variety and economical source of pharmaceuticals for the sheep industry in Canada.

Dwane also serves on Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board representing southwest Saskatchewan and plays in country band.


Andrew Gordanier, Vice-Chair
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Phone: 519-925-6502


Andrew grew up on a cow-calf operation and ventured into sheep along with his parents in 2004. Their flock of 250 commercial Rideaus is growing; they also raise 30 purebred Ile de France sheep. Andrew lives in Shelburne, ON with his wife and two children (8 and 10) who keep them busy at the rink, where his son plays hockey and his daughter figure skates.



Andre Trepanier
Federation des producteurs d’Agneaux et moutons du Quebec
Phone/Fax: 450-293-6305









Beth Barczyk
Sheep Producers Association of New Brunswick
Phone: 506-536-1177
Fax: 506-364-1606


Beth farms with her husband Arnd and their children Mackenzie (20), Conrad (13), and Madison (11) in Sackville, NB. Barczyk Farm, an 11-year-old operation located 60 kilometres from Moncton, includes 450 ewes and 80 acres of wild blueberries.

2009 marks Beth’s fourth year as a Board Member representing New Brunswick, and her second year on the Executive Committee. She got involved with the CSF because she believes that a national organization gets its strength in numbers, and coming from a province with small sheep numbers, access to information is a huge benefit. According to Beth, the CSF’s greatest value is that it represents all sheep/lamb producers. “It is very easy to think of only ones self and to not realize the bigger picture,” she says. “The CSF has the ability, through its board, to hear many sides.” Beth hopes to influence industry unity during her time on the Board. “On a national level, as a small commodity, it is extremely important that we continue to act as one voice,” she says.

In addition to her role with the CSF, Beth is President of the New Brunswick Sheep Breeders Association, a member of the infrastructure task group advising New Brunswick’s Minister of Agriculture and the Chignecto Soils and Crop Association. Off the farm, she is involved with the Parent School Support Committee at a local high school and a volunteer at a middle school. Her kids also keep her busy with hockey, basketball and choir activities.

Board Members

Barbara Johnstone Grimmer
BC Sheep Federation
Phone: 250-629-3817
Fax: 250-629-6398


Barbara grew up on small farm, and now raises sheep and beef on her Fir Hill Farm. Along with her husband Glenn, the pair has been farming on Peder Island, BC for 12 years.

Barbara feels the CSF’s greatest strength is to unify the sheep sector, and provide a voice and representation. She hopes to work with other livestock groups (such as beef and swine) who are having a difficult time because of trade rules and because input prices and commodity prices are out of sync. “These groups are looking at a national label to help drive a premium product marketing plan,” she says. “Maybe we can work with them on a “home grown” cross-commodity marketing plan.”

Barbara also keeps busy leading 4-H clubs, helping her husband with his business, and writing farm articles for a community newspaper.


Phil Kolodychuk
Alberta Lamb Producers
Phone: 780-835-2112
Fax: 780-835-2181


Norine Moore
Alberta Lamb Producers
Phone: 403-549-2464
Fax: 403-549-2465

Norine grew up on a mixed grain and cattle operation near Edmonton. She’d been off the farm for 20 years when she started her own farming operation in 1994. She operates Second Chance Livestock Company with her husband in Stavely, AB – 75 miles straight south of Calgary. Together they run 300 ewes (registered Suffolks, Hampshires, North Country Cheviots, Columbias and Rambouillets), 100 purebred Black Angus cattle, 50 boarxnubian goats, and a few llamas and donkeys. We grow only grass and hay. 

Norine got involved with the CSF because she would like to make a difference. She believes the organization greatest value is speaking with a united voice for all provinces in addressing issues at the national level. “I would like to participate in moving the board forward to become a more cohesive working unit to represent all provinces, while remaining mindful of the capabilities and limitations of each provincial member,” she says.


Trent Larson
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Phone: 306-726-2926


Trent and his wife Sandy raise Romanov/Dorset cross ewes in an accelerated lambing program using Texel and Canadian Arcott as terminal sires. The pair has been farming since 2002. Their operation – Valley Edge Ranch – is located in Southey, SK, which is a 30-minute drive north of Regina.

“The CSF’s greatest value is the knowledge and advancements that can be gained through communication and cooperation with farmers across the country,” he says. “The issue of greatest interest to me is the RFID tagging system including on-farm safety. I would also like to see our government allowing access to vaccines and medications that are currently sold in countries we import sheep from but are not accessible here in Canada.”

In addition to farming, Trent does construction/renovation work in the community. He and Sandy have three children under the age of 6, which keep them very busy as well.


Richard Zubot
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Phone/Fax: 306-682-3252


Richard brings three decades of farming experience to the CSF board. Zubot Farms Ltd is located southeast of Burr, SK near Humboldt. Alongside his wife Carol and sons Tyler and Brett, Richard raises Purebred Canadian Arcott, Rideau Arcott, and Ile de France sheep as well as commercial. Their total flock size is 350 ewes. The family also grows hay and custom feeds hogs.

Richard believes the CSF’s greatest value is having a national voice for all the sheep producers in Canada. “I got involved because I think it’s important to know what is going on in the industry, not just provincially but nationally as well,” he says. “With a limited number of markets for our lambs, I think it’s very important to produce a uniform product.”

The family also owns and operates Zubot Welding and Manufacturing, building sheep feeding and handling equipment for other producers. In their free time, the Zubots enjoy camping, boating and hunting.


Lucien Lesage
Manitoba Sheep Association
Phone: 204-744-2858
Fax: 204-744-2475









Markus Wand
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Phone: 705-724-2314
Fax: 705-724-6455

Markus operates Buriana Livestock in partnership with his parents in Powassan, ON. Together they raise sheep and run a cow-calf operation. Markus graduated from the University of Guelph in 2003 with an Honours Degree in Agricultural Science (focusing on Animal Science).  He is currently Chair of the Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency.

He joined the CSF Board to be more aware and involved with issues at the national level. “I believe the CSF’s greatest value is bringing a national, united front on behalf of the provinces,” says Markus. One thing he would like to influence during his time on the Board is to try and bring sheep farming as a full-time occupation into the mainstream.


Mark Lenover
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Phone: (705) 563-2966


Mark brings a wealth of sheep farming experience to the board. He operates Maybrook Farms in Thornloe, ON (the northeastern part of Ontario in the District of Temiskaming) alongside his wife Camille. They’ve had sheep at this location for 33 years, and presently have a flock of more than 500 ewes.

Mark feels the greatest value of the CSF is having a national voice for all sheep producers. Being new to the Board, Mark looks forward to understanding more about the issues facing the organization.

Mark also keeps busy sitting on town council and with his role as Fire Chief for the township.


Graham Reid
Sheep Producers Association of Nova Scotia
Phone: 902-243-3152
Fax: 902-243-3167










Daniel Dion
Canadian Sheep Breeders’ Association
Phone: 418.856.1200 Ext. 1
Fax: 418-856-6247

Daniel farmed from 2000 to 2007, running an operation with 200 ewes. He is currently the Vice President of the Canadian Sheep Breeders’ Association. He participates on the CSF Board to be involved with the main organization leading the sheep industry. Daniel believes the organization’s greatest value is a unified voice for representation of all the Canadian sheep industry. During his time on the Board he hopes to influence farm productivity.


Brian Greaves
Canadian Co-operative Wool Growers
Phone/Fax: 204-597-3509

 









Previous Years ~ Board of Directors


SEARCH:

Retour à la page d'accueil
Canadian Sheep Federation
ACCUEILÀ PROPOS
DE NOUS
SANTÉ
ANIMALE
COMMERCEQUESTIONSINFORMATION ET
RESSOURCES
QUOI DE
NEUF ?
LIENS

À PROPOS DE NOUS   ››  Conseil d’administration   ››  2008-2009
Conseil d’administration 2008-2009 

Comité exécutif

Dwane Morvik, président
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Tél: 306-295-3801
Courriel: morvik@gmail.com
 
Dwane et son épouse, Jaime, cultivent des graminées pour le pâturage des moutons à proximité de Eastend en Saskatchewan, dans la vallée Frenchman River. Le nom de leur ranch, Jondaryan Station, est dérivé d’un village australien et est exploité depuis 1984.

« La plus grande force de la FCM est le soutien qu’elle offre aux producteurs de moutons des différentes provinces alors que celles-ci travaillent vers des objectifs communs qui améliorent l’industrie, » affirme Dwane. En tant que participant à la FCM, Dwane veut accomplir bien des choses. Un des objectifs est d’obtenir une source de produits pharmaceutiques pour l’industrie ovine au Canada.

Dwane siège aussi sur le conseil de la Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board et représente la partie sud-ouest de la province. Il fait aussi partie d’un groupe country.


Andrew Gordanier, vice-président
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Tél: 519-925-6502
Courriel: jgordanier2001@yahoo.ca

Andrew a grandi sur une ferme bovine. En 2004, il s’aventure dans le secteur ovin avec ses parents. Leur troupeau de 250 moutons Rideau commerciaux est en croissance. Ils élèvent aussi 30 moutons Île de France pur sang. Andrew vit à Shelburne en Ontario avec son épouse et leurs deux enfants (8 et 10 ans). Les enfants gardent leurs parents occupés sur la patinoire là où le fils joue au hockey et la fille fait du patin artistique.


Andre Trepanier
Federation des producteurs d’Agneaux et moutons du Quebec
Tél/Fax: 450-293-6305
Courriel: trepanier_andre@sympatico.ca












Beth Barczyk
Sheep Producers Association of New Brunswick
Tél: 506-536-1177
Fax: 506-364-1606
Courriel: abarczyk@nb.sympatico.ca

Beth exploite une ferme avec son époux Arnd et ses enfants Mackenzie (20 ans), Conrad (13 ans), et Madison (11) à Sackville au Nouveau-Brunswick. La ferme Barczyk, une exploitation de 11 ans située à 60 kilomètres de Moncton, comprend 450 brebis et 80 acres de bleuets sauvages.

2009 marque la quatrième année de Beth en tant que membre du conseil représentant le Nouveau-Brunswick. Il s’agit aussi de sa seconde année sur le comité exécutif. Elle s’est impliquée avec la FCM car elle croit qu’un organisme national se renforce en étant plus nombreux et venant d’une province avec un petit nombre de moutons, l’accès à l’information est un énorme avantage. Selon Beth, la plus grande force de la FCM est qu’elle représente tous les producteurs ovins. « Il est très facile de ne penser que de soi-même et de ne pas voir plus loin que son nez, » affirme-t-elle. « Par le biais du conseil, la FCM a la capacité d’entendre toutes les opinions. » Pendant son séjour sur le conseil, Beth espère influencer l’industrie. « Sur le plan national, il est important de continuer à agir à l’unisson, surtout pour les produits ovins qui ne prennent pas beaucoup de place, » dit-elle.

En plus de son rôle avec la FCM, Beth est présidente de la New Brunswick Sheep Breeders Association, membre du groupe de travail qui avise le ministre de l’Agriculture du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Chignecto Soils and Crop Association. En dehors de la ferme, elle est impliquée avec le Parent School Support Committee de l’école secondaire locale et fait du bénévolat à l’école élémentaire. Avec le hockey, le basket-ball et la chorale, ses enfants la gardent aussi occupée

Membres du conseil

Barbara Johnstone Grimmer
BC Sheep Federation
Tél: 250-629-3817
Fax: 250-629-6398
Courriel: firhill@gulfislands.com

Barbara a grandi sur la petite ferme Fir Hill. Elle y élève maintenant des moutons et du bœuf. Avec Glenn son époux, ils exploitent la ferme de Peder Island en Colombie-Britannique depuis 12 ans.

Barbara pense que la plus grande force de la FCM est d’unifier le secteur ovin et de lui fournir une voix et une représentation. Elle espère travailler avec d’autres groupes de bétail (bœuf et porc) qui ont de la difficulté avec les règlements de commerce et aussi parce que le prix des intrants et des denrées n’est pas en équilibre. « Ces groupes pensent qu’il faut une étiquette nationale pour aider à développer un programme de mise en marché de produits haut de gamme, » dit-elle. « Peut-être pouvons-nous travailler avec eux sur un programme « maison » de marketing. »

Barbara est aussi très occupée avec des clubs 4-H, elle aide son époux avec son entreprise, et écrit des articles dans un journal communautaire.


John Haarman
Alberta Lamb Producers
Tél: 403-381-4881
Fax: 403-381-0288
Courriel: couleeviewtexel@caylix.com

Avec ses 32 années en agriculture, John apporte beaucoup d’expérience au conseil. Il exploite une ferme avec son épouse à Diamond City en Alberta. Leur exploitation, Couleeview Texel Ltd., comprend 200 acres irrigués et un troupeau de 200 brebis. 

John s’est joint à la Fédération canadienne du mouton pour essayer de résoudre certaines inquiétudes nationales. Il croit que la plus grande contribution de l’organisme est la représentation des producteurs ovins et de l’industrie face au gouvernement fédéral. « Tant que je serai sur le conseil, j’espère aider les producteurs de moutons à mieux communiquer avec le reste de la chaîne de valeur – de la ferme jusqu’à l’assiette, » dit-il.

John est aussi occupé par d’autres rôles dans l’industrie. Il détient des postes avec l’Alberta Sheep & Wool Commission (ASWC), la North County Water Coop, l’Alberta Sheep Breeders Association (ASBA), et la Canadian Texel Association. Il est aussi président de la Southern Alberta Sheep Breeders (SASB) et joue un rôle en tant que membre conseiller du conseil de la Dutch Credit Union.


Norine Moore
Alberta Lamb Producers
Tél: 403-549-2464
Fax: 403-549-2465
Courriel: wnsheep@xplornet.com

Norine a grandi sur une ferme de bétail et de grains à proximité d’Edmonton. Vingt ans après avoir quitté la ferme familiale, elle s’est mise à exploiter sa propre ferme en 1994. Avec son époux, elle exploite la Second Chance Livestock Company à Stavely en Alberta, à 75 milles au sud de Calgary. Ensemble, ils élèvent 300 brebis (enregistrées Suffolks, Hampshires, North Country Cheviots, Columbias et Rambouillets), 100 Black Angus pur sang, 50 chèvres boarxnubian, quelques lamas et des ânes. Nous ne faisons pousser que des graminées et du foin. 

Norine s’est joint à la Fédération canadienne du mouton parce qu’elle voulait faire une différence. Elle croit que la plus grande contribution de l’organisme est de parler d’une seule voix au nom de toutes les provinces et de régler des problèmes au niveau national. « J’aimerais participer à faire avancer le conseil afin qu’il soit plus cohésif dans sa représentation des provinces, tout en demeurant attentive aux capacités et aux limites de chaque membre provincial, » dit-elle


Trent Larson
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Tél: 306-726-2926
Courriel: tslarson@sasktel.net

Trent et son épouse Sandy, élèvent des brebis croisées Romanov / Dorset. Il s’agit d’un programme d’agnelage accéléré utilisant des pères de race Texel and Canadian Arcott. Ils exploitent la ferme depuis 2002. Leur exploitation – Valley Edge Ranch – est située à Southey en Saskatchewan, à environ 30 minutes au nord de Regina.

« La plus grande contribution de la FCM est la connaissance et les avancées qui peuvent être acquises par le biais de la communication et de la coopération avec des fermiers à travers le pays. » « Le point le plus important pour moi est le système d’étiquettes d’identification à fréquence radio incluant la sécurité à la ferme. J’aimerais aussi voir notre gouvernement permettre l’accès à des vaccins et des médicaments vendus dans des pays d’où nous importons des bêtes, mais qui ne sont pas accessibles ici au Canada. »

En plus d’exploiter une ferme, Trent fait des travaux de construction et de rénovation dans la communauté. Avec son épouse Sandy, Trent est aussi très occupé avec ses trois enfants de moins de 6 ans.


Richard Zubot
Saskatchewan Sheep Development Board
Tél/Fax: 306-682-3252
Courriel: crzubot@bogend.ca

Richard amène trois décennies d’expérience agricole au conseil de la FCM. L’entreprise Zubot Farms Ltd est localisée au sud-ouest de Burr en Saskatchewan, à proximité de Humboldt. Aux côtés de son épouse Carol et ses fils Tyler et Brett, Richard élève des moutons pur sang Canadian Arcott, des Rideau Arcott, et des Île de France ainsi que des bêtes commerciales. Le troupeau se chiffre à 350 têtes. La famille fait aussi pousser du foin et fait aussi de l’engraissement de porcs à forfait.

Richard croit que la plus grande contribution de la FCM est d’avoir une voix nationale pour tous les producteurs de moutons du Canada. « Je me suis impliqué, car je crois qu’il est important de savoir ce qui se passe dans l’industrie, non seulement au niveau provincial, mais aussi au niveau national, » dit-il. « Avec un nombre limité de marchés pour nos agneaux, je pense qu’il est très important de produire un produit uniforme. »

La famille exploite aussi l’entreprise Zubot Welding and Manufacturing qui fabrique des équipements d’alimentation et de manutention ovine pour les autres producteurs. Pendant leurs temps libres, les Zubot en profitent pour faire du camping, du bateau et de la chasse.


Lucien Lesage
Manitoba Sheep Association
Tél: 204-744-2858
Fax: 204-744-2475
Courriel: lmlesage@mts.net









Markus Wand
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Tél: 705-724-2314
Fax: 705-724-6455
Courriel: mwand@sympatico.ca

En partenariat avec ses parents, Markus exploite la ferme Buriana Livestock à Powassan en Ontario. Ensemble ils élèvent des moutons et exploitent une ferme bovine. En 2003, Markus obtient son baccalauréat en science agricole avec honneur de l’Université de Guelph. Il est présentement président de l’Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency.

Il s’est joint au conseil de la FCM pour être mieux informé et impliqué dans les problèmes nationaux de l’industrie. « Je pense que la plus grande contribution de la FCM est de créer un front uni des provinces, » affirme Markus. Pendant son séjour sur le conseil, il aimerait bien jouer un rôle à faire de l’industrie ovine une occupation à temps plein.


Mark Lenover
Ontario Sheep Marketing Agency
Tél: (705) 563-2966
Courriel: lenover@ontera.net

Mark apporte beaucoup d’expérience en production ovine au conseil. Avec son épouse Camille, il exploite la ferme Maybrook Farms à Thornloe en Ontario (la partie nord-est de l’Ontario couvrant le Témiskaming). Il élèvent des moutons à cet endroit depuis 33 ans et le troupeau compte actuellement 500 brebis. 

Mark croit que la plus grande contribution de la FCM est d’avoir une voix nationale pour les producteurs. En étant sur le conseil, Mark aura une meilleure compréhension des problèmes dont l’organisme fait face.

Mark est aussi occupé sur le conseil de la ville ainsi qu’avec son rôle de chef pompier du canton.


Graham Reid
Sheep Producers Association of Nova Scotia
Tél: 902-243-3152
Courriel: 902-243-3167










Daniel Dion
Société Canadienne des Éleveurs de Moutons
Tél: 418.856.1200 Ext. 1
Fax: 418-856-6247
Courriel: semrpq@cepoq.com

De 2000 à 2007, Daniel a exploité une ferme de 200 brebis. Il est actuellement vice-président de la Canadian Sheep Breeders Association. Il est membre du conseil de la FCM afin d’être impliqué avec le principal organisme menant l’industrie ovine. Daniel croit que la plus grande contribution de l’organisme est d’unifier la voix et la représentation de l’industrie ovine canadienne. En tant que membre du conseil, il espère influencer la productivité des fermes.


Brian Greaves
Canadian Co-operative Wool Growers
Tél/Fax: 204-597-3509
Courriel: sbr@mts.net
 









Années précédentes - Bureau de direction


RECHERCHE: